< Persian Gulf - صفادشت



+ Persian Gulf

 About Persian Gulf

The Persian Gulf, in Southwest Asia, is an extension of the Indian Ocean located between Iran and the Arabian Peninsula.[1] Historically and commonly
known as the Persian Gulf, this body of water is sometimes controversially referred to as the Arabian Gulf or simply The Gulf by most Arab states[2],
although neither of the latter two terms is recognized internationally. The name Persian Gulf (Gulf of Iran) is used by the International
Hydrographic Organization[3]. The Persian Gulf was a focus of the 1980-1988 Iraq-Iran War, in which each side attacked the other's oil tankers. In 1991, the Persian Gulf again was the
background for what was called the "Persian Gulf War" or the "Gulf War" when Iraq invaded Kuwait and was subsequently pushed back, despite the fact
that this conflict was primarily a land conflict.
The Persian Gulf has many good fishing grounds, extensive coral reefs, and abundant pearl oysters, but its ecology has come under pressure from
industrialization, and in particular, petroleum spillages during the recent wars in the region.


This inland sea of some 251,000 km² is connected to the Gulf of Oman in the east by the Strait of Hormuz; and its western end is marked by the major river
delta of the Shatt al-Arab, which carries the waters of the Euphrates and the Tigris. Its length is 989 kilometres, with Iran covering most of the
northern coast and Saudi Arabia most of the southern coast. The Persian Gulf is about 56 kilometres wide at its narrowest, in the Strait of Hormuz.
The waters are overall very shallow, with a maximum depth of 90 metres and an average depth of 50 metres.
Countries with a coastline on the Persian Gulf are (clockwise, from the north): Iran, Oman (exclave of Musandam), United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia ,
Qatar on a peninsula off the Saudi coast, Bahrain on an island, Kuwait and Iraq in the northwest. Various small islands lie within the Persian Gulf,
some of which are subject to territorial disputes by the states of the region. Extent
The International Hydrographic Organization refers to the gulf as the "Persian Gulf (Gulf of Iran)", and it defines its southern limit as follows:[4]
The Northwestern limit of Gulf of Oman [A line joining Ràs Limah (25°57'N) on the coast of Arabia and Ràs al Kuh (25°48'N) on the coast of Iran
نویسنده : مهدی ذبیحی فر ; ساعت ۱٠:٥٥ ‎ق.ظ ; ۱۳٩٠/٩/٢٦
comment نظرات () لینک